Let’s be careful out there…

I read about two cyclists that were hit by cars this weekend – one was a 38-year-old woman who did not survive. She was hit at 7:10 pm by a driver who said that she was blinded by the sun. The other was hit at 6:00 pm – the sun shouldn’t have been a factor with this one.

Spring has sprung, which means there’s a lot more cyclists getting back on the road now. I’m no dummy – in a collision between a 2,000+ pound car and my 18 pound bike, I know which will win. That’s why I do the best that I possibly can in terms of keeping to the right of the road, obeying traffic laws, trying to stick to roads with bike lanes and not riding too late in the evening. All I ask is for a little more caution and patience on the part of drivers so we both can get home safe and sound.

Let’s both share the road. And let’s all be careful out there…please.

~ by chuckmattina on April 16, 2012.

Leave a comment