Hey Delta, how many points do I earn for bag fees??

A lot has been written about Delta’s bold new frequent flyer awards program.  Earn by the dollar, not by the mile.  So here’s the thing – if I earn points now for dollars, will Delta give me frequent flyer points for the dollars I spend checking a bag, buying a lame snack on one of their planes, or for – horrors! – making a change in my travel plans?

Call me crazy, but I think anyone who flies Delta should demand this! They linked points to dollars, not us.  So why not?! Come on Delta, pony up points for those add-on fees that cost us an arm and a leg and have helped your bottom line so much…

The saddest part in all of this? The flying experience really isn’t linked to dollars paid – first class excluded (most of the time, that is).  If I pay more for a suit, I expect one that fits better and lasts longer.  If I pay more for a car, I expect better customer service and a nicer ride.  Not so with airlines – paying more usually has no bearing on quality or satisfaction.  But hey, you’ll know you’re earning more points stuck in that middle seat near the toilet – so that should make you happy!!

So sit back, relax, and enjoy the wonderful new points program from Delta.

And remember – there’s a barf bag in the seat pocket in front of you (and an extra $25 will get you an unused one!).

~ by chuckmattina on February 27, 2014.

Leave a comment